Jump to content


Photo

Windows 10


  • Please log in to reply
39 replies to this topic

#21    

   

  • Member
  • 43,794 posts

Posted August 05, 2015 - 02:41 PM

Finally had some free time to install it, problem is it froze at 49%. Had to restart my computer after it recovered my previous version of windows and it booted back up I had to error message 0xC190010 - 0x3000D "The installation failed in the FIRST_BOOT phases with an error during MIGRATE_DATA operation".

No clue what that means or why that happened but I had a feeling I was going to have a problem upgrading to windows 10. Any one have any idea why this happened? I am upgrading from windows 7, not sure if that makes a difference. Also, should I run the update in safe mode or some other way to hopefully get it to work? I'm not gonna take another try at it until I have a bunch of free time on my hand because I am pretty sure this problem will happen over and over again lol

I'll probably eventually try it myself and will be jumping from 7 as well. Unfortunately, like yours, I have the feeling mine will fail as well eventhough there apparently have been plenty of success stories of 7 to 10 by most accounts.

yo.


#22 PhillyLaker24

PhillyLaker24

    Starter

  • Member
  • 5,159 posts
  • Name:Joseph
  • Fan Since:2001
  • Fav. Laker:Kobe Bean Bryant

Posted August 05, 2015 - 03:11 PM

I'll probably eventually try it myself and will be jumping from 7 as well. Unfortunately, like yours, I have the feeling mine will fail as well eventhough there apparently have been plenty of success stories of 7 to 10 by most accounts.

 

Hope you have more success than me. Apparently windows 10 is pretty good sucks I have to figure out how to get it first, which I am sure will be a lot of trial and error. I'm getting a new computer soon anyway so if it gives me too many problems I might just rock out with 7 until I upgrade to my new comp which will have 10. 


Edited by PhillyLaker24, August 05, 2015 - 03:12 PM.

All I want for Christmas is a Laker girl :D

 


#23 LakersFanatic

LakersFanatic

    Rookie

  • Member
  • 926 posts
  • Fan Since:2000
  • Fav. Laker:Kobe

Posted August 12, 2015 - 03:40 AM

Finally had some free time to install it, problem is it froze at 49%. Had to restart my computer after it recovered my previous version of windows and it booted back up I had to error message 0xC190010 - 0x3000D "The installation failed in the FIRST_BOOT phases with an error during MIGRATE_DATA operation".
 
No clue what that means or why that happened but I had a feeling I was going to have a problem upgrading to windows 10. Any one have any idea why this happened? I am upgrading from windows 7, not sure if that makes a difference. Also, should I run the update in safe mode or some other way to hopefully get it to work? I'm not gonna take another try at it until I have a bunch of free time on my hand because I am pretty sure this problem will happen over and over again lol



If you know how to, in the BIOS, change the boot order to allow your HDD to boot first.

If you don't know how to work with the BIOS, make sure no CDs are in the CD-ROM, and no storage USBs/SD Cards in the slots. Let us know if that works.

#24 Kobe-Wan Kenobi

Kobe-Wan Kenobi

    Off The Bench

  • Member
  • 1,769 posts

Posted August 12, 2015 - 04:42 AM

I installed 10 (upgraded from 8.1) and Linux on a new computer a few days ago. Doesn't look bad, so far.

 

I cannot figure out why the heck they made the windows look all white/gray and not colored like they were before, but it's no big deal. I just used Winaero Tweaker to fix it.

Fotunately, no "Tiled Start" anymore, but i don't like the new start so much, so I guess I'll stick with Classic Shell.

I won't say anything about how Office looks, I got the good old 97, still alive and running perfectly after all those years.

 

Edge... way better than Explorer, but still really bad compared with Firefox or Chrome.

 

Finally had some free time to install it, problem is it froze at 49%. Had to restart my computer after it recovered my previous version of windows and it booted back up I had to error message 0xC190010 - 0x3000D "The installation failed in the FIRST_BOOT phases with an error during MIGRATE_DATA operation".

 

No clue what that means or why that happened but I had a feeling I was going to have a problem upgrading to windows 10. Any one have any idea why this happened? I am upgrading from windows 7, not sure if that makes a difference. Also, should I run the update in safe mode or some other way to hopefully get it to work? I'm not gonna take another try at it until I have a bunch of free time on my hand because I am pretty sure this problem will happen over and over again lol

 

It could be the boot order, like LakersFanatic said, or a driver problem. Some nVidia users have gone through major trouble because of that. You could try to restore the previous installation, upgrade the drivers, and then try again. What's your graphic card? And did it say anything else when you booted it back up, maybe something with "FATAL_ERROR" in it?



#25 PhillyLaker24

PhillyLaker24

    Starter

  • Member
  • 5,159 posts
  • Name:Joseph
  • Fan Since:2001
  • Fav. Laker:Kobe Bean Bryant

Posted August 12, 2015 - 10:10 AM

If you know how to, in the BIOS, change the boot order to allow your HDD to boot first.

 

 

If you don't know how to work with the BIOS, make sure no CDs are in the CD-ROM, and no storage USBs/SD Cards in the slots. Let us know if that works.

 

It could be the boot order, like LakersFanatic said, or a driver problem. Some nVidia users have gone through major trouble because of that. You could try to restore the previous installation, upgrade the drivers, and then try again. What's your graphic card? And did it say anything else when you booted it back up, maybe something with "FATAL_ERROR" in it?

 

Gonna try to change the boot order then and run it again to see how it goes. My graphics card is a Radeon 7690M XT. Also other than the error message I posted it didn't say anything else. The annoying part was even when I google the error code the only thing that shows up is a reddit thread of someone asking for help on the same issue and everyone else being stumped by it as well. I found one that had a supposed solution for it, but it was geared towards a desktop and involved doing stuff with the monitor which I obviously can't do since I am on a laptop. 

 

Hope what you guys said helps, I was just playing around with windows 10 at best buy the other day and it seemed pretty snappy and smooth so I am actually looking forward to the upgrade. 

 

 

EDIT: Went in to check my bios and my hard drive was already number one in boot order followed by internal cd/dvd rom, USB diskettet, and last USB cd/dvd rom. Both the USB floppy and network adapter were listed but had exclamation points next to them meaning they don'st start up on boot.  

 

Any other ideas that I could try? 


Edited by PhillyLaker24, August 12, 2015 - 10:54 AM.

All I want for Christmas is a Laker girl :D

 


#26    

   

  • Member
  • 43,794 posts

Posted August 12, 2015 - 03:19 PM

Worst comes to shove, maybe just consider taking it to some professional computer repair-like place/service or perhaps even BestBuy's GeekSquad.

yo.


#27 Jackson

Jackson

    Legend

  • Member
  • 10,128 posts
  • Location:Honolulu, Hawaii
  • Fav. Laker:Kobe Bryant/Kareem/Sasha(LOL)

Posted August 16, 2015 - 05:50 PM

WINDOWS 10 CAN DELETE YOUR PIRATED SOFTWARE

 

This statement was spotted by PC Authority in the EULA and lets Microsoft not only disable counterfeit software but also hardware. According to Section 7b or “Updates to the Services or Software, and Changes to These Terms,” part of the Microsoft Services end user license agreement (EULA) it states that, “Sometimes you’ll need software updates to keep using the Services. We may automatically check your version of the software and download software updates or configuration changes, including those that prevent you from accessing the Services, playing counterfeit games, or using unauthorized hardware peripheral devices. You may also be required to update the software to continue using the Services.”

While the statement above clearly mentions pirated games, there is no clarification on what is meant by unauthorised hardware. Does Microsoft mean hardware mods of its devices such as the Xbox One or the Xbox 360? Or will there be a list of peripherals that Microsoft has slotted as unauthorised and if you are using those, then that will face blocks? We are not yet sure and Microsoft has left that statement quite vague. Considering Windows 10 will be seen across devices, more clarity is need on what is meant by ‘unauthorised hardware’.

Microsoft also hasn’t stated how it will go about detecting counterfeit games and software already installed on a machine. This also raises privacy concerns, considering the fact that Microsoft will be able to tell what software is installed on your machine. A software giant scanning your PC to determine what software you have installed, and whether that’s pirated or not, is getting into a really grey area. In a country such as India, where pirated software is widely used, this could pose to be a problem for many.

http://tech.firstpos...-10-277956.html


Edited by Jackson, August 16, 2015 - 05:51 PM.


#28 True Lakers Fan

True Lakers Fan

    Dead Discussion! You will not win, because I will not lose&a

  • Member
  • 24,241 posts
  • Location:San Antonio but from OC Cali
  • Name:Kyler
  • Fan Since:1990
  • Fav. Laker:Kobe, Lamar

Posted November 06, 2015 - 07:37 PM

I just upgraded today, everything looks great on it, but I can't play videos on it. I can hear the audio but black screen. Help?

 

It works on Chrome, but not Firefox


Edited by True Lakers Fan, November 06, 2015 - 07:38 PM.

Kobe%20Bryant%20Sig%20v3.jpg


#29 Biggums

Biggums

    I Do Work

  • Member
  • 422 posts
  • Location:Say town
  • Fan Since:birth
  • Fav. Laker:kobe / glen rice

Posted November 06, 2015 - 07:44 PM

i had that issue i restarted and it went away.  


5PiX5gx.jpg
SPurs Suck


#30 -Wade-

-Wade-

    知己知彼,百戰不殆

  • Moderator
  • 6,473 posts
  • Name:Wade
  • Fav. Laker:♛ Kobe Bryant

Posted November 07, 2015 - 09:05 AM

WINDOWS 10 CAN DELETE YOUR PIRATED SOFTWARE

 

http://tech.firstpos...-10-277956.html

 

Windows 10 is basically spyware. There is telemetry everywhere even if you disable it in all of the options that Microsoft provides to the user. I'm shredding it today and am going back to 7+Linux.

 

With that noted, Microsoft pushed some telemetry patches to 7 that some might want to consider disabling:

http://www.wildersse...o-avoid.379151/


LeGj1r3.png

"I'm always a firm believer in us being able to make our own decisions." --Kobe Bryant

Q: When you take off your jersey for the final time, what will you leave behind on the court?
A: "My heart and soul." --Kobe Bryant


#31 Game

Game

    Your Daddy

  • Moderator
  • 12,702 posts
  • Location:Santa Barbara, Cali
  • Fan Since:Late '80s
  • Fav. Laker:Kobe Bryant

Posted November 07, 2015 - 10:17 AM

lol...glad i stayed away from that, i'm old school, still believe nothing is free...was waiting for the catch

 

especially from microsoft of all people


  • -Wade- likes this

Posted Image


#32 Clutch Factor

Clutch Factor

    Hall Of Fame

  • Member
  • 9,761 posts
  • Fav. Laker:Kobe Bryant

Posted November 07, 2015 - 02:02 PM

Some complaints about Windows 10 on my Asus laptop:

 

1) Every few days or weeks I'll turn on my laptop and the keys "D, F, J, K, L, and 6" won't work. Not sure if it's an ASUS issue, a Windows 10 issue, or an ASUS / Windows 10 compatibility issue. 

 

2) Sometimes I'll get a "Critical Error: Your Start menu isn't working. We'll try to fix it the next time you sign in." It never fixes the next time you sign in -- you have to power off your computer and turn it back on a few times before it works. 

 

3) Out of the blue the sound will just stop working. 

 

- - - -

 

These are just a few of the visible problems. The fact that it's a potential spyware adds to the dilemma. I think I'll be switching back to Windows 8 in a few days. 



#33 -Wade-

-Wade-

    知己知彼,百戰不殆

  • Moderator
  • 6,473 posts
  • Name:Wade
  • Fav. Laker:♛ Kobe Bryant

Posted November 07, 2015 - 04:45 PM

Some complaints about Windows 10 on my Asus laptop:

 

1) Every few days or weeks I'll turn on my laptop and the keys "D, F, J, K, L, and 6" won't work. Not sure if it's an ASUS issue, a Windows 10 issue, or an ASUS / Windows 10 compatibility issue. 

 

2) Sometimes I'll get a "Critical Error: Your Start menu isn't working. We'll try to fix it the next time you sign in." It never fixes the next time you sign in -- you have to power off your computer and turn it back on a few times before it works. 

 

3) Out of the blue the sound will just stop working. 

 

- - - -

 

These are just a few of the visible problems. The fact that it's a potential spyware adds to the dilemma. I think I'll be switching back to Windows 8 in a few days. 

 

Do you have the latest AsusTek drivers? Apparently problem #1 has been common on Windows 10 with some Asus products and Asus had to release a new driver update for Windows 10.


  • HQLLYWQQD and Clutch Factor like this

LeGj1r3.png

"I'm always a firm believer in us being able to make our own decisions." --Kobe Bryant

Q: When you take off your jersey for the final time, what will you leave behind on the court?
A: "My heart and soul." --Kobe Bryant


#34 Clutch Factor

Clutch Factor

    Hall Of Fame

  • Member
  • 9,761 posts
  • Fav. Laker:Kobe Bryant

Posted November 07, 2015 - 05:40 PM

Do you have the latest AsusTek drivers? Apparently problem #1 has been common on Windows 10 with some Asus products and Asus had to release a new driver update for Windows 10.

 
Besides any that may have updated through Windows Update itself, I haven't. I searched and found http://www.drivethelife.com/, which apparently updates and fixes all Windows drivers with one click. Might try that and see if it resolves #1 and the other issues.

 

But even so, if the spyware information is true, I don't feel safe with Windows 10.



#35 -Wade-

-Wade-

    知己知彼,百戰不殆

  • Moderator
  • 6,473 posts
  • Name:Wade
  • Fav. Laker:♛ Kobe Bryant

Posted November 07, 2015 - 06:45 PM

 
Besides any that may have updated through Windows Update itself, I haven't. I searched and found http://www.drivethelife.com/, which apparently updates and fixes all Windows drivers with one click. Might try that and see if it resolves #1 and the other issues.

 

But even so, if the spyware information is true, I don't feel safe with Windows 10.

 

I mean antiviruses and the like obviously won't classify Windows 10 as spyware, but terminologically speaking, it fits the classification. Here is more specific information about the telemetry:

 

at3CfMe.jpg

 

I'm not trying to fearmonger - as a privacy geek and security specialist I feel it is valid to point out. For some people it is not going to be a big deal, and in fact, Windows 10 will increase the productivity of those who have a Windows phone, use office products, have a onedrive, and have Skype premium services. It should just be noted that Windows 10 was designed to be a hybrid operating system -- partly the traditional operating systems we are all used to, and partly a "cloud" oriented operating system. That is, the default settings are designed in such a way to analyze as much content and information about you as possible so that the Cortana assistant and other tools can offer you a personalized experience.


The catch is that Microsoft gets to have all your information and "know" everything about you. For some people that is no problem, for others that might not be the case. I just think it's important that consumers have more information about the product that they are using.


LeGj1r3.png

"I'm always a firm believer in us being able to make our own decisions." --Kobe Bryant

Q: When you take off your jersey for the final time, what will you leave behind on the court?
A: "My heart and soul." --Kobe Bryant


#36 Real Deal

Real Deal

    Legend

  • Site Admin
  • 15,336 posts
  • Location:Kansas
  • Name:Brandon
  • Fav. Laker:Kobe

Posted November 07, 2015 - 07:31 PM

I'll be upgrading one computer at work, just for kicks, but it won't happen on the rest of those in the network, and definitely not on my personal computers at home.


  • -Wade- likes this

#37 Clutch Factor

Clutch Factor

    Hall Of Fame

  • Member
  • 9,761 posts
  • Fav. Laker:Kobe Bryant

Posted November 07, 2015 - 07:51 PM

I'm not trying to fearmonger - as a privacy geek and security specialist I feel it is valid to point out. For some people it is not going to be a big deal, and in fact, Windows 10 will increase the productivity of those who have a Windows phone, use office products, have a onedrive, and have Skype premium services. It should just be noted that Windows 10 was designed to be a hybrid operating system -- partly the traditional operating systems we are all used to, and partly a "cloud" oriented operating system. That is, the default settings are designed in such a way to analyze as much content and information about you as possible so that the Cortana assistant and other tools can offer you a personalized experience.


The catch is that Microsoft gets to have all your information and "know" everything about you. For some people that is no problem, for others that might not be the case. I just think it's important that consumers have more information about the product that they are using.

 

I just don't see how Microsoft has the right to collect my passwords, credit card information, purchases, location data, etc. The fact that they can share any of that information to a third-party is absurd.

 

Thanks for informing us about this!


  • -Wade- likes this

#38 bfc1125roy

bfc1125roy

    Superstar

  • Member
  • 4,537 posts
  • Fan Since:2004
  • Fav. Laker:Kobe Bryant

Posted November 07, 2015 - 09:40 PM

What is propakistani.pk? 



#39 True Lakers Fan

True Lakers Fan

    Dead Discussion! You will not win, because I will not lose&a

  • Member
  • 24,241 posts
  • Location:San Antonio but from OC Cali
  • Name:Kyler
  • Fan Since:1990
  • Fav. Laker:Kobe, Lamar

Posted November 08, 2015 - 07:05 AM

If you need help with making Windows 10 safer, Wade can help you with that. He did everything for me via Teamviewer


  • pkflyers and Clutch Factor like this

Kobe%20Bryant%20Sig%20v3.jpg


#40 -Wade-

-Wade-

    知己知彼,百戰不殆

  • Moderator
  • 6,473 posts
  • Name:Wade
  • Fav. Laker:♛ Kobe Bryant

Posted November 08, 2015 - 11:07 AM

What is propakistani.pk? 

 

Some Pakistani security researcher's blog. There are more reputable sources that confirm the information reported from that blog here, here, here, and here. (Arstechnica, LifeHacker, TechDirt)

 

 

If you need help with making Windows 10 safer, Wade can help you with that. He did everything for me via Teamviewer

 

This is true, just PM me or follow the instructions here under the "good news" section (and also the Win10 Tracking Disable Tool).


LeGj1r3.png

"I'm always a firm believer in us being able to make our own decisions." --Kobe Bryant

Q: When you take off your jersey for the final time, what will you leave behind on the court?
A: "My heart and soul." --Kobe Bryant





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users