#1 epicwolf

epicwolf

#1 Clipper hater #1 Raider hater

• 3,760 posts
  • Fan Since:1985
  • Fav. Laker:Magic Johnson, Kobe Mamba

Posted September 19, 2014 - 01:46 PM

http://www.pcworld.c...processors.html

I just built my first gaming PC not too long ago. In fact it was in August.  I went the route of an SLI with two Nvidia GTX770 and I can play pretty much every game in max settings. Sure some games lack a little bit of frame rates but not even noticable.  Then I was just checking out some nvidia news and it finally came out with a brand new graphics card for Nvidia fanboy like myself to think about getting.  I read up on it and it kind of confused me a little. I admit I am not a PC guru that knows everything about PC. I did say I built my first PC just recently so I am a complete noobie in terms of all this tech talk.  Thats why I created this thread.  I want to hear from experienced gaming PC builders if I should just get rid of my SLI cards and get a hold of this GTX980?  A review said that it is better than the GTX780ti.   I look at the retail price and for $540 bucks base model it is actually cheap.  I was expecting it to be more than that since the 780ti is still expansive as f*****. I was expecting it to be between the price of the 780ti and the Titan which is like 800 bucks or so. Why is the price like that? ANd should we jump on this brand new graphics card?  

Interesting how they skip the 800 series all together and jump on the 900 series.

Edited by epicwolf, September 22, 2014 - 05:45 AM.

#2 MrRJ

MrRJ

Rookie

• 1,093 posts
  • Name:Raymond Perez
  • Fan Since:I was born
  • Fav. Laker:Kobe Bryant

Posted September 19, 2014 - 04:05 PM

Single always has its advantage over SLI. Purpose of SLI is bang for buck.

That being said unless you want to have the best of the best enjoy your 770's and wait until price drops. You're not going to notice much of a difference in games unless you're looking side by side or monitoring fps.