Got to admit, I had to take a second look. But our government recognizes our world champion Los Angeles Lakers!!!

GovTrack: Congratulating the Los Angeles Lakers for winning the 2009 National Basketball Association Championship.

Whereas, on June 14, 2009, the Los Angeles Lakers defeated the Orlando Magic in game 5 of the 2009 National Basketball Association Championship Finals;

Whereas that triumph marks the 15th National Basketball Association Championship for the Lakers franchise and 10th for the Los Angeles Lakers;

Whereas that triumph also marks the fourth National Basketball Association Championship victory for the Los Angeles Lakers since 1999, earning the Los Angeles Lakers more championship victories in this decade than any other team in the league;

Whereas Los Angeles Lakers head coach Phil Jackson, who throughout his career has epitomized discipline, teaching, and excellence, has won 10 National Basketball Association Championships as a head coach, the most championships for a head coach in National Basketball Association history, surpassing the number won by the legendary Arnold ‘Red’ Auerbach;

Whereas the 2009 National Basketball Association Championship marks the ninth championship for Los Angeles Lakers owner Gerald Hatten Buss;

Continue reading ‘S. Res. 188: A resolution congratulating the Lakers for winning 2009 NBA Championship’