Jump to content




Photo

GIF Lags


  • Please log in to reply
37 replies to this topic

#21 ツ  

ツ  

    All-Star

  • 5,721 posts
  • Joined: Jul 09, 2010
  • Location:California
  • Fan Since:2003
  • Fav. Laker:Kobe Bryant

Posted January 02, 2013 - 03:15 PM

I have 3GB installed.

I recently used CCleaner and Tuneup Utilities to optimize my computer, and even had my theme changed to Classic mode(best performance), but it still lags. Even on a single tab with everything else closed it still lags.

The only programs I have running are MSE and Tuneup Utilities. I highly doubt they are causing the problem.

Edited by ツ  , January 02, 2013 - 03:16 PM.


#22 -Wade-

-Wade-

    知己知彼,百戰不殆

  • 6,028 posts
  • Joined: Jun 17, 2010
  • Location:◕‿◕
  • Name:Chao ❤
  • Fan Since:▄︻̷̿┻̿═━一
  • Fav. Laker:♛ Kobe Bryant

Posted January 02, 2013 - 03:45 PM

I have 3GB installed.

I recently used CCleaner and Tuneup Utilities to optimize my computer, and even had my theme changed to Classic mode(best performance), but it still lags. Even on a single tab with everything else closed it still lags.

The only programs I have running are MSE and Tuneup Utilities. I highly doubt they are causing the problem.


And it works in Firefox flawlessly? Even when you start to use more tabs? What video card do you have? Perhaps you need a driver update.

wKNsigp.png

"I'm always a firm believer in us being able to make our own decisions." --Kobe Bryant


#23 ツ  

ツ  

    All-Star

  • 5,721 posts
  • Joined: Jul 09, 2010
  • Location:California
  • Fan Since:2003
  • Fav. Laker:Kobe Bryant

Posted January 02, 2013 - 03:54 PM

And it works in Firefox flawlessly? Even when you start to use more tabs? What video card do you have? Perhaps you need a driver update.

Yup Firefox is flawless, NVIDIA GeForce 8400GS

Edited by ツ  , January 02, 2013 - 03:55 PM.


#24 -Wade-

-Wade-

    知己知彼,百戰不殆

  • 6,028 posts
  • Joined: Jun 17, 2010
  • Location:◕‿◕
  • Name:Chao ❤
  • Fan Since:▄︻̷̿┻̿═━一
  • Fav. Laker:♛ Kobe Bryant

Posted January 02, 2013 - 06:22 PM

Yup Firefox is flawless, NVIDIA GeForce 8400GS


Chrome is slowing down the GIF by increasing the delay between frames. This
makes the sample GIF play at what appears to be normal speed, but makes
many GIFs on the Internet play too slowly. This may be the cause of the
continued complaints in issue 295 .


Perhaps try reinstalling Chrome to see if updating -webkit works. If doing that and disabling the flash plugin extension still does not make gifs work in Chrome, I don't know what else to say without further personal tinkering.

wKNsigp.png

"I'm always a firm believer in us being able to make our own decisions." --Kobe Bryant


#25 Real Deal

Real Deal

    Legend

  • 14,920 posts
  • Joined: Jun 29, 2008
  • Location:Kansas
  • Name:Brandon
  • Fav. Laker:Kobe

Posted January 02, 2013 - 07:16 PM

Well, process of elimination...it can't be just the browser. I've been using Chrome for a long time now, and update it every chance I get...saw this problem just once, solved it by disabling the browser version of Flash.

Most having the problems were experiencing them with both new AND old versions of Chrome + Win7...which is why I assumed he had that as his OS.

I guess, if the reinstall, disabling the Flash browser plugin, AND disabling all extensions doesn't work (together), I'm really out of answers.

#26 ツ  

ツ  

    All-Star

  • 5,721 posts
  • Joined: Jul 09, 2010
  • Location:California
  • Fan Since:2003
  • Fav. Laker:Kobe Bryant

Posted January 02, 2013 - 08:48 PM

Man, I don't want to reinstall just for the sake of possibly fixing the gif problem. Would I lose all my bookmarks and saved content if I uninstall Chrome? Is there any way to save them? If not, I guess I'll just have to live with it.

#27 Real Deal

Real Deal

    Legend

  • 14,920 posts
  • Joined: Jun 29, 2008
  • Location:Kansas
  • Name:Brandon
  • Fav. Laker:Kobe

Posted January 02, 2013 - 08:53 PM

Man, I don't want to reinstall just for the sake of possibly fixing the gif problem. Would I lose all my bookmarks and saved content if I uninstall Chrome? Is there any way to save them? If not, I guess I'll just have to live with it.

Do you have a Google account? If so, just sync everything (under Settings).

#28 -Wade-

-Wade-

    知己知彼,百戰不殆

  • 6,028 posts
  • Joined: Jun 17, 2010
  • Location:◕‿◕
  • Name:Chao ❤
  • Fan Since:▄︻̷̿┻̿═━一
  • Fav. Laker:♛ Kobe Bryant

Posted January 02, 2013 - 09:19 PM

Man, I don't want to reinstall just for the sake of possibly fixing the gif problem. Would I lose all my bookmarks and saved content if I uninstall Chrome? Is there any way to save them? If not, I guess I'll just have to live with it.


You can go to your bookmark manager (Wrench -> Bookmark Manager) chrome://bookmarks/

Then hit Organize -> Export Bookmarks to HTML file

Then your bookmarks will be backed up. When you reinstall Chrome, you go back to the bookmark manager, Organize -> Import from HTML file, and select the file that was created.


The easiest / fastest way is to use the method RD stated. Create a gmail account and sync everything from within Chrome.

wKNsigp.png

"I'm always a firm believer in us being able to make our own decisions." --Kobe Bryant


#29 ツ  

ツ  

    All-Star

  • 5,721 posts
  • Joined: Jul 09, 2010
  • Location:California
  • Fan Since:2003
  • Fav. Laker:Kobe Bryant

Posted January 03, 2013 - 06:29 PM

Reinstalled and everything, I still have the problem :pinch:

#30 Honey Boo Boo

Honey Boo Boo

    I <3 Weezy's Lil' Wayne

  • 1,486 posts
  • Joined: Nov 29, 2012
  • Fav. Laker:Eminem

Posted January 03, 2013 - 11:18 PM

Reinstalled and everything, I still have the problem :pinch:


Posted Image
Posted Image

#31 ツ  

ツ  

    All-Star

  • 5,721 posts
  • Joined: Jul 09, 2010
  • Location:California
  • Fan Since:2003
  • Fav. Laker:Kobe Bryant

Posted January 03, 2013 - 11:23 PM

Posted Image

you're such a troll. if you're not gonna help then don't bother posting.

Edited by ツ  , January 03, 2013 - 11:24 PM.


#32 Honey Boo Boo

Honey Boo Boo

    I <3 Weezy's Lil' Wayne

  • 1,486 posts
  • Joined: Nov 29, 2012
  • Fav. Laker:Eminem

Posted January 03, 2013 - 11:25 PM

you're such a troll. if you're not gonna help then don't bother posting.

Posted Image
Posted Image

#33 -Wade-

-Wade-

    知己知彼,百戰不殆

  • 6,028 posts
  • Joined: Jun 17, 2010
  • Location:◕‿◕
  • Name:Chao ❤
  • Fan Since:▄︻̷̿┻̿═━一
  • Fav. Laker:♛ Kobe Bryant

Posted January 05, 2013 - 02:26 PM

Reinstalled and everything, I still have the problem :pinch:


Want to take a speedtest and post your result?
http://speedtest.net/

Perhaps it is a network issue. For example, the gif Lakeshow posted is 1.5MB in size. If you have a slow download, it may take you 5 seconds to download 1.5MB, or longer. Take an hour long YouTube video. You watch it for 15 minutes and then your internet goes out. You will notice that you can still watch anywhere within the red bar region, even if you are offline. This is called cache, and gifs work in similar fashion (except aren't streamed like a video, but I am sure you get the point).

If it is not your up/down speed, perhaps a driver update? Driver Genius from http://www.driver-soft.com/ may tell you if you have a video driver update.

Also, if you block LakeShow5 like I have, it will make your loading times a little faster, because the posts are hidden and the gifs LakeShow posts are not loaded. ;) Goodluck.

Edited by -Wade-, January 05, 2013 - 02:28 PM.

wKNsigp.png

"I'm always a firm believer in us being able to make our own decisions." --Kobe Bryant


#34 ツ  

ツ  

    All-Star

  • 5,721 posts
  • Joined: Jul 09, 2010
  • Location:California
  • Fan Since:2003
  • Fav. Laker:Kobe Bryant

Posted January 05, 2013 - 03:15 PM

Don't think it's a network issue. my internet is fine.

Posted Image

#35 -Wade-

-Wade-

    知己知彼,百戰不殆

  • 6,028 posts
  • Joined: Jun 17, 2010
  • Location:◕‿◕
  • Name:Chao ❤
  • Fan Since:▄︻̷̿┻̿═━一
  • Fav. Laker:♛ Kobe Bryant

Posted January 05, 2013 - 04:19 PM

*Works in Firefox, not Chrome
*Not network related
*Not memory related
*Chrome extensions disabled
*Cache cleared
*Not virus

The driver update is a reach, but that is a very peculiar bug you have there.

Edited by -Wade-, January 05, 2013 - 04:19 PM.

wKNsigp.png

"I'm always a firm believer in us being able to make our own decisions." --Kobe Bryant


#36 ツ  

ツ  

    All-Star

  • 5,721 posts
  • Joined: Jul 09, 2010
  • Location:California
  • Fan Since:2003
  • Fav. Laker:Kobe Bryant

Posted January 05, 2013 - 05:03 PM

i'm fairly certain i already have all the latest drivers.

thanks for all the help, if you have any other solutions I would gladly try it out. until then, i'll just live with it.

#37 DTIII™

DTIII™

    Inglewood's Finest.

  • 3,300 posts
  • Joined: Sep 25, 2012
  • Fav. Laker:Swaggy P, J-Chill, K-Butta

Posted June 25, 2013 - 07:10 PM

Is it possible to make the signature a little size bigger, I reallly wanna use some gifs I have but size :\ 


EyMlHkX.jpg


#38 ツ  

ツ  

    All-Star

  • 5,721 posts
  • Joined: Jul 09, 2010
  • Location:California
  • Fan Since:2003
  • Fav. Laker:Kobe Bryant

Posted June 25, 2013 - 07:33 PM

Is it possible to make the signature a little size bigger, I reallly wanna use some gifs I have but size :\ 

you can use image editors online such as this http://www.online-image-editor.com/ for the fastest way






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users