Jump to content




Photo

Laptop freezing problem


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Imadogg

Imadogg

    Rookie

  • 0 posts
  • Joined: Jul 24, 2008

Posted August 13, 2010 - 11:52 PM

Ok so I've had this problem for a while now (since my laptop always used to overheat) but it seems worse these days.

I got a Toshiba Satellite A205-S4777
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Intel Core 2 Duo CPU Processor T5450 1.66GHz/1.67GHz
2GB RAM
320GB SATA 3.0Gb/s 7200RPM HDD

Well, a while back my computer used to overheat and freeze, due to dust [expletive]ing up the fan inside where it wouldn't spin at all. Opened it up and took the dust out and it was a lot better. I can feel cool air now and the vent isn't burning up. It used to freeze anywhere from being on 10min to 3hours (faster if I used more memory).

After that, it would just freeze randomly a couple times a week.

These days it seems to freeze less just randomly while I'm using it, but if I close the lid and re-open it, or let the screen go to black and move the mouse to bring the screen back, it freezes a loooot more. I'm actually scared to close the lid now so I carry my laptop around while it's open most of the time. Like when I re-open the lid, the screen comes back from black and then my mouse stops dead in its tracks and it's just frozen, I need to hold the power button to turn it off.


Help meeeeeeeeeeeeeee

#2 Michaelyumm

Michaelyumm

    Quick & Easy

  • 10,600 posts
  • Joined: Jul 24, 2008
  • Fan Since:93
  • Fav. Laker:Javaris Crittenton

Posted August 13, 2010 - 11:57 PM

Bro just get a new one I used to have toshiba I loved it very much but it finally crashed after a while and I just said screw and got myself a Mac Book.

#3 Imadogg

Imadogg

    Rookie

  • 0 posts
  • Joined: Jul 24, 2008

Posted August 13, 2010 - 11:59 PM

I might have to get a new one, 3 years old Toshiba..

#4 LaLa

LaLa

    Champ

  • 7,900 posts
  • Joined: Jul 27, 2008
  • Location:Born in Oakland, Now in So-Cal
  • Fan Since:1999
  • Fav. Laker:KB24

Posted August 14, 2010 - 12:09 AM

Its better to get a new laptop now. I used to be like you, having an old arse computer, gave me so many troubles. Just save up for a new one.
Posted Image
R.I.P. to my grandmother, 4/17/07 : (

#5 Michaelyumm

Michaelyumm

    Quick & Easy

  • 10,600 posts
  • Joined: Jul 24, 2008
  • Fan Since:93
  • Fav. Laker:Javaris Crittenton

Posted August 14, 2010 - 12:12 AM

a vaio is a very good computer also.

#6 vong

vong

    Sixth Man

  • 3,167 posts
  • Joined: Oct 06, 2008
  • Fav. Laker:Goku

Posted August 14, 2010 - 12:16 AM

just get a macbook (white unibody) from apple. they having back to school special, so it comes out to like $950 ish i think. then you can craiglist your ipod touch for like $200/150 after rebate. thus making your purchase only 750/800.

plus, macs also have a good re-sale value

Edited by vong, August 14, 2010 - 12:17 AM.

L7zqGhJ.png

alumni


#7 Batz

Batz

    God dammit...

  • 7,731 posts
  • Joined: Sep 12, 2009
  • Location:Toronto, ON.
  • Name:Ahmed
  • Fav. Laker:Kobe Bean Bryant

Posted August 14, 2010 - 02:29 AM

Had a Toshiba. Same thing happened with you. It eventually died when the motherboard burnt. Said [expletive] it and got a HP Laptop.

#8 GinzyVee

GinzyVee

    Clutch

  • 1,969 posts
  • Joined: Sep 17, 2008
  • Location:Somewhere, PA
  • Fan Since:1991
  • Fav. Laker:Kobe Bryant

Posted August 14, 2010 - 05:49 AM

I bought an Acer and its awesome.

3 GB Ram
320 GB Harddrive

Bought it for only $399, bought a 1 TB hardrive along with that and got $50 off of that. I got a really good deal on it.

#9 Spooky

Spooky

    TLN Daily News

  • 2,167 posts
  • Joined: Apr 07, 2010
  • Location:323
  • Name:Spooky
  • Fan Since:88'

Posted August 14, 2010 - 05:58 AM

Ok so I've had this problem for a while now (since my laptop always used to overheat) but it seems worse these days.

I got a Toshiba Satellite A205-S4777
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Intel Core 2 Duo CPU Processor T5450 1.66GHz/1.67GHz
2GB RAM
320GB SATA 3.0Gb/s 7200RPM HDD

Well, a while back my computer used to overheat and freeze, due to dust [expletive]ing up the fan inside where it wouldn't spin at all. Opened it up and took the dust out and it was a lot better. I can feel cool air now and the vent isn't burning up. It used to freeze anywhere from being on 10min to 3hours (faster if I used more memory).

After that, it would just freeze randomly a couple times a week.

These days it seems to freeze less just randomly while I'm using it, but if I close the lid and re-open it, or let the screen go to black and move the mouse to bring the screen back, it freezes a loooot more. I'm actually scared to close the lid now so I carry my laptop around while it's open most of the time. Like when I re-open the lid, the screen comes back from black and then my mouse stops dead in its tracks and it's just frozen, I need to hold the power button to turn it off.


Help meeeeeeeeeeeeeee



Test your RAM. Download memtest86+

Test each stick individually. If either one brings up any errors you need to replace it.

#10 JEN

JEN

    Legend

  • 27,074 posts
  • Joined: Sep 20, 2008
  • Location:714

Posted August 14, 2010 - 06:45 AM

Ah Toshiba - I had one of those.. lol. But ya like most everyone else saying so... just get a new one. =\ Sony Vaio! B)

#11 Windu

Windu

    Shatterpoint

  • 43,136 posts
  • Joined: Apr 24, 2009
  • Name:Will
  • Fan Since:1999
  • Fav. Laker:Kobe

Posted August 14, 2010 - 02:01 PM

Sony or HP

Pau Gasol is GONE


#12 Notorious Arab

Notorious Arab

    Starter

  • 4,853 posts
  • Joined: Feb 06, 2009
  • Location:OC
  • Fan Since:When I came to the USA
  • Fav. Laker:Kobe Bryant

Posted August 14, 2010 - 03:48 PM

Before closing the lid, just shutdown the computer. When u close the lid, it goes into "sleep" mode. IF u do this it will prevent the freeze up.

Posted Image


#13 Imadogg

Imadogg

    Rookie

  • 0 posts
  • Joined: Jul 24, 2008

Posted August 14, 2010 - 11:25 PM

Before closing the lid, just shutdown the computer. When u close the lid, it goes into "sleep" mode. IF u do this it will prevent the freeze up.

No, I never let my computer sleep, because that also makes my computer freeze for some reason when it comes back (it didn't always do that). It's set on "do nothing" when closing the lid.

#14 Notorious Arab

Notorious Arab

    Starter

  • 4,853 posts
  • Joined: Feb 06, 2009
  • Location:OC
  • Fan Since:When I came to the USA
  • Fav. Laker:Kobe Bryant

Posted August 15, 2010 - 10:23 AM

No, I never let my computer sleep, because that also makes my computer freeze for some reason when it comes back (it didn't always do that). It's set on "do nothing" when closing the lid.

How about shutting down the computer?

Posted Image


#15 Imadogg

Imadogg

    Rookie

  • 0 posts
  • Joined: Jul 24, 2008

Posted August 16, 2010 - 04:33 PM

How about shutting down the computer?

What do you mean? It's not like I never shut down the laptop, and I'm not gonna shut it down any time I step out of the room for a second.

#16 Notorious Arab

Notorious Arab

    Starter

  • 4,853 posts
  • Joined: Feb 06, 2009
  • Location:OC
  • Fan Since:When I came to the USA
  • Fav. Laker:Kobe Bryant

Posted August 16, 2010 - 08:20 PM

What do you mean? It's not like I never shut down the laptop, and I'm not gonna shut it down any time I step out of the room for a second.

How about u dont close the lid at all. If it still doesnt work then try this: http://www.sevenforu...ir-install.html

Posted Image





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users