Jump to content




Photo

Need help installing Windows 7


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 paperstreet.

paperstreet.

    :D

  • 303 posts
  • Joined: Nov 18, 2008
  • Location:SanDiego/BayArea
  • Name:patrick
  • Fan Since:1989
  • Fav. Laker:Kobe

Posted October 01, 2009 - 04:29 PM

Hey guys, I decided to install Windows7 and right now I am in the process of backing up all of the files i need to my external HD and downloading the windows 7 files. One thing I really don't understand is partitioning. Partitioning to my understanding is basically splitting up your HD right? So I think my HD has 2 partitions one being OS (my C drive) and the other my recovery partition. So when I start to install Windows 7 I have to have my Windows 7 dvd thing in my cd drive when I boot my computer right? And do I choose my OS (c drive) as to where i install Windows 7?

Posted Image


#2 daco_inc

daco_inc

    Starter

  • 4,431 posts
  • Joined: Jul 31, 2008
  • Location:Seattle
  • Fan Since:birth
  • Fav. Laker:growing up: magic, now: kobe

Posted October 01, 2009 - 04:58 PM

Yes, if you're ready to completely transition to 7, then you do it on your C:, but it will delete whatever you have on there. Or you can create another partition and install 7 onto that.

#3 paperstreet.

paperstreet.

    :D

  • 303 posts
  • Joined: Nov 18, 2008
  • Location:SanDiego/BayArea
  • Name:patrick
  • Fan Since:1989
  • Fav. Laker:Kobe

Posted October 01, 2009 - 07:17 PM

If I create a partition for Windows 7 how much space should i put in it?

Posted Image


#4 daco_inc

daco_inc

    Starter

  • 4,431 posts
  • Joined: Jul 31, 2008
  • Location:Seattle
  • Fan Since:birth
  • Fav. Laker:growing up: magic, now: kobe

Posted October 01, 2009 - 07:45 PM

I don't know, but there is a minimum. Try to google it. 20-30 GB should be good enough (not for the minimum, but just in general)

#5 paperstreet.

paperstreet.

    :D

  • 303 posts
  • Joined: Nov 18, 2008
  • Location:SanDiego/BayArea
  • Name:patrick
  • Fan Since:1989
  • Fav. Laker:Kobe

Posted October 01, 2009 - 07:58 PM

Hmmm k. So if I installed Windows7 in a new partition. Will I still be able to run vista since I have it still installed in my C drive? How does this work?

Posted Image


#6 daco_inc

daco_inc

    Starter

  • 4,431 posts
  • Joined: Jul 31, 2008
  • Location:Seattle
  • Fan Since:birth
  • Fav. Laker:growing up: magic, now: kobe

Posted October 01, 2009 - 08:27 PM

http://lifehacker.co...ith-xp-or-vista

That should help.

#7 Game

Game

    Your Daddy

  • 10,665 posts
  • Joined: Sep 13, 2008
  • Location:Santa Barbara, Cali
  • Fan Since:Late '80s
  • Fav. Laker:Kobe Bryant

Posted October 01, 2009 - 08:29 PM

i have vista and 7 installed, haven't been on vista in over 3 weeks probably, going to format that partition for more space...starting to accumulate too much crap...good luck though, and good post daco

Posted Image


#8 paperstreet.

paperstreet.

    :D

  • 303 posts
  • Joined: Nov 18, 2008
  • Location:SanDiego/BayArea
  • Name:patrick
  • Fan Since:1989
  • Fav. Laker:Kobe

Posted October 01, 2009 - 09:37 PM

K so if i do a clean install of windows 7 in a new partition. will i be able to run programs that were installed in my C drive while running windows 7?

Edited by paperstreet., October 01, 2009 - 09:51 PM.

Posted Image


#9 daco_inc

daco_inc

    Starter

  • 4,431 posts
  • Joined: Jul 31, 2008
  • Location:Seattle
  • Fan Since:birth
  • Fav. Laker:growing up: magic, now: kobe

Posted October 01, 2009 - 11:19 PM

K so if i do a clean install of windows 7 in a new partition. will i be able to run programs that were installed in my C drive while running windows 7?

I think you're asking if you can run programs that you installed on your vista OS while running windows 7? The answer is no (at least afaik). You'll need to install any program again in windows 7. Those programs from vista (or xp or whatever your old OS was) is part of that old OS's registry. You'll need to reinstall it so that it becomes part of the Windows 7's registry. You can access files from your old partition.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users