Jump to content




Photo

Computer Problem


  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 LaLa

LaLa

    Champ

  • 7,900 posts
  • Joined: Jul 27, 2008
  • Location:Born in Oakland, Now in So-Cal
  • Fan Since:1999
  • Fav. Laker:KB24

Posted August 02, 2009 - 12:16 PM

This has been an annoying problem for a couple of weeks. My cursor has been flickering, sometimes I can't copy & paste right it annoys the [expletive] out of me. Then it says virtual memory is low so it closes programs and I have to restart the computer. Can anyone help me?
Posted Image
R.I.P. to my grandmother, 4/17/07 : (

#2 Guest_Nissan_*

Guest_Nissan_*

Posted August 02, 2009 - 01:04 PM

How much RAM does your computer have?

#3 LaLa

LaLa

    Champ

  • 7,900 posts
  • Joined: Jul 27, 2008
  • Location:Born in Oakland, Now in So-Cal
  • Fan Since:1999
  • Fav. Laker:KB24

Posted August 02, 2009 - 01:06 PM

How much RAM does your computer have?

How do you find that out...
Posted Image
R.I.P. to my grandmother, 4/17/07 : (

#4 Guest_Nissan_*

Guest_Nissan_*

Posted August 02, 2009 - 01:10 PM

How do you find that out...


Right-click the My Computer icon, and select Properties from the menu that appears.

Look for the info under the general tab.

What programs are you using when you are having this problem?

#5 Guest_True Lakers Fan_*

Guest_True Lakers Fan_*

Posted August 02, 2009 - 01:10 PM

yea how do you fine RAM in a laptop

#6 LaLa

LaLa

    Champ

  • 7,900 posts
  • Joined: Jul 27, 2008
  • Location:Born in Oakland, Now in So-Cal
  • Fan Since:1999
  • Fav. Laker:KB24

Posted August 02, 2009 - 01:11 PM

Right-click the My Computer icon, and select Properties from the menu that appears.

Look for the info under the general tab.

What programs are you using when you are having this problem?

504 MB of ram.

I just use AIM & Firefox thats it. But it happens regardless.
Posted Image
R.I.P. to my grandmother, 4/17/07 : (

#7 Guest_Nissan_*

Guest_Nissan_*

Posted August 02, 2009 - 01:16 PM

504 MB of ram.

I just use AIM & Firefox thats it. But it happens regardless.

No wonder. lol

You need at least 1 GB to do basic stuff with your computer.

Firefox and AIM use a lot of RAM. Your computer is probably shutting down because you don't have enough memory to run all the program you use.

How old is your computer? 2-3 years?

#8 Game

Game

    Your Daddy

  • 10,256 posts
  • Joined: Sep 13, 2008
  • Location:Santa Barbara, Cali
  • Fan Since:Late '80s
  • Fav. Laker:Kobe Bryant

Posted August 02, 2009 - 01:16 PM

yea, sounds like a ram issue...something hogging your resources

do you have programs for dealing with spyware/viruses?

Posted Image


#9 LaLa

LaLa

    Champ

  • 7,900 posts
  • Joined: Jul 27, 2008
  • Location:Born in Oakland, Now in So-Cal
  • Fan Since:1999
  • Fav. Laker:KB24

Posted August 02, 2009 - 01:17 PM

No wonder. lol

You need at least 1 GB to do basic stuff with your computer.

Firefox and AIM use a lot of RAM. Your computer is probably shutting down because you don't have enough memory to run all the program you use.

How old is your computer? 2-3 years?

Yeh 2 yrs.
Posted Image
R.I.P. to my grandmother, 4/17/07 : (

#10 Guest_True Lakers Fan_*

Guest_True Lakers Fan_*

Posted August 02, 2009 - 01:17 PM

AIM might be the prolbem

#11 Guest_Nissan_*

Guest_Nissan_*

Posted August 02, 2009 - 01:19 PM

Yeh 2 yrs.

You need to upgrade your RAM.

Do you have a laptop?

#12 LaLa

LaLa

    Champ

  • 7,900 posts
  • Joined: Jul 27, 2008
  • Location:Born in Oakland, Now in So-Cal
  • Fan Since:1999
  • Fav. Laker:KB24

Posted August 02, 2009 - 01:20 PM

You need to upgrade your RAM.

Do you have a laptop?

This is the laptop. :lol: I might be getting a new one soon but I want to see if I can still savage this one 1st.
Posted Image
R.I.P. to my grandmother, 4/17/07 : (

#13 kb24_lakers

kb24_lakers

    Katy Perry

  • 7,108 posts
  • Joined: Jul 25, 2008
  • Location:CITY OF ANGELS
  • Name:JUAN
  • Fan Since:1996
  • Fav. Laker:kobe bryant

Posted August 02, 2009 - 01:20 PM

No wonder. lol

You need at least 1 GB to do basic stuff with your computer.

Firefox and AIM use a lot of RAM. Your computer is probably shutting down because you don't have enough memory to run all the program you use.

How old is your computer? 2-3 years?

umm i use my MSN,Yahoo messenger, and 3 to 4 internet pages at the same time. Comp is like 4-5 years old. Never had this problem.
[Lakers
Dodgers
RIP Amy Winehouse

#14 LaLa

LaLa

    Champ

  • 7,900 posts
  • Joined: Jul 27, 2008
  • Location:Born in Oakland, Now in So-Cal
  • Fan Since:1999
  • Fav. Laker:KB24

Posted August 02, 2009 - 01:21 PM

yea, sounds like a ram issue...something hogging your resources

do you have programs for dealing with spyware/viruses?

Yeh...Windows Live OneCare
Posted Image
R.I.P. to my grandmother, 4/17/07 : (

#15 Guest_True Lakers Fan_*

Guest_True Lakers Fan_*

Posted August 02, 2009 - 01:24 PM

what kind of laptop do you have

#16 Guest_Nissan_*

Guest_Nissan_*

Posted August 02, 2009 - 01:25 PM

Yeh...Windows Live OneCare

I think it's time for a new computer or upgrade your RAM.

You are having this problem because your computer doesn't have enough memory to use all the programs you are using at the same time.

XP, Live OneCare, Anti-virus, Firefox, AIM, etc. that's a lot for 504 of RAM.

#17 LaLa

LaLa

    Champ

  • 7,900 posts
  • Joined: Jul 27, 2008
  • Location:Born in Oakland, Now in So-Cal
  • Fan Since:1999
  • Fav. Laker:KB24

Posted August 02, 2009 - 01:26 PM

Damn theres nothing I can do to fix it? Alright thx for the help then Nissan.
Posted Image
R.I.P. to my grandmother, 4/17/07 : (

#18 Game

Game

    Your Daddy

  • 10,256 posts
  • Joined: Sep 13, 2008
  • Location:Santa Barbara, Cali
  • Fan Since:Late '80s
  • Fav. Laker:Kobe Bryant

Posted August 02, 2009 - 01:31 PM

not sure what a good free spyware program is (I'm sure someone on here can tell you) but you should probably run one of those if this is more of a new problem

but yea, your best bet is upgrading

it might help to stop some programs from starting up, but that might be a little complicated if you don't have a program that makes it easy for you or know a decent amount about computers. if you notice several icons at the bottom right hand side of your screen near the clock, you can right click on them and exit them if you believe you're not using them. a lot of the time they will tell you what they are just by running your mouse over them without clicking

Posted Image


#19 Guest_Nissan_*

Guest_Nissan_*

Posted August 02, 2009 - 01:49 PM

Damn theres nothing I can do to fix it? Alright thx for the help then Nissan.

Upgrade your RAM and edit your registry startup.

#20 lyk13

lyk13

    BACK 2 BACK NBA CHAMPIONS

  • 4,722 posts
  • Joined: Jul 25, 2008
  • Location:Singapore
  • Fan Since:1999 (But reminiscent all the way back till 1960s, even 1948)
  • Fav. Laker:Kobe Bryant & Wilt Chamberlain

Posted August 02, 2009 - 03:35 PM

If he has enough hard disk space, increase virtual memory. Though...that isn't the wisest choice but it solves memory problems for the time being.

How can one still survive with 512mb...=.="







3 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 3 guests, 0 anonymous users