Jump to content




Photo

The Official Computer Thread


  • Please log in to reply
657 replies to this topic

#621 -Wade-

-Wade-

    知己知彼,百戰不殆

  • 5,785 posts
  • Joined: Jun 17, 2010
  • Location:◕‿◕
  • Name:Chao ❤
  • Fan Since:▄︻̷̿┻̿═━一
  • Fav. Laker:♛ Kobe Bryant

Posted July 01, 2013 - 06:49 PM

how do i remove ad yield manager? when i go into yahoo mail avast give me a block malware popup for ad yield manager... Malwarebytes says my computer is clean though...

 

Ad Yield Manager is a tracking cookie that could be associated with spyware but isn't always. So first and foremost, clear your cookies.

 

Firefox: Ctrl+Shift+Del

Chrome: https://support.goog...wer/95647?hl=en

IE: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/278835

 

Install adblock-edge and Disconnect for your browser.

 

Run a MalwareBytes deep scan once again, it may take an hour or two to complete.

 

You may also consider: Start -> run -> %temp%

And deleting all of your temporary files.

 

You may also consider: Start -> run -> msconfig

a6Ym2l1.png


Reboot

 

 

Goodluck


Edited by -Wade-, July 01, 2013 - 06:50 PM.

wKNsigp.png

"I'm always a firm believer in us being able to make our own decisions." --Kobe Bryant


#622 Warren2ThaG

Warren2ThaG

    777

  • 7,484 posts
  • Joined: Jan 18, 2009
  • Location:Glendale, AZ.
  • Name:Danny P
  • Fan Since:1992
  • Fav. Laker:Kobe Bryant

Posted July 02, 2013 - 09:51 AM

Thanks Wade, so far so good. hope it doesnt come back. I also unchecked 3rd party cookies, someone said it should be unchecked.


All About Tha NW

russelwilsonfinalforums.jpg
"It's gonna take the man in me to conquer this insanity..." -Tupac.
-----------------------


#623 Lakerace24

Lakerace24

    Sixth Man

  • 3,207 posts
  • Joined: Jun 12, 2012
  • Name:Matt
  • Fan Since:Birth
  • Fav. Laker:Kobe

Posted August 17, 2013 - 09:07 AM

Alright, so the desktop my boss kicked down to me for free started acting up and this link describes what's going on with it.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/297185

It's weird because he gave it to me about two months ago and it was working perfectly fine then; it was the computer I used at my desk.

Can anyone tell me how much it would cost to get it fixed?

#624 -Wade-

-Wade-

    知己知彼,百戰不殆

  • 5,785 posts
  • Joined: Jun 17, 2010
  • Location:◕‿◕
  • Name:Chao ❤
  • Fan Since:▄︻̷̿┻̿═━一
  • Fav. Laker:♛ Kobe Bryant

Posted August 17, 2013 - 01:33 PM

Do you have the Windows installation disc? If you do, pop it in, restart the computer, and keep hitting F11 or F12 (varies) until you get into the boot priority menu. Select "boot from disc" and the Windows Installation will appear.

 

Instead of re-installing Windows, select the recovery console option. Type in "CHKDSK" and then after that runs, type in "FIXBOOT" (no quotes on either).

 

After it runs through the process, remove the disc and reboot. Hopefully it fixes it. If it does not, there are a few other things we can try...

if you just want someone to fix it for you, the price really does vary from person to place. I would try to fix it yourself if you feel comfortable enough to attempt these things.

 

Keep us updated


wKNsigp.png

"I'm always a firm believer in us being able to make our own decisions." --Kobe Bryant


#625 Lakerace24

Lakerace24

    Sixth Man

  • 3,207 posts
  • Joined: Jun 12, 2012
  • Name:Matt
  • Fan Since:Birth
  • Fav. Laker:Kobe

Posted August 17, 2013 - 03:28 PM

Do you have the Windows installation disc? If you do, pop it in, restart the computer, and keep hitting F11 or F12 (varies) until you get into the boot priority menu. Select "boot from disc" and the Windows Installation will appear.

 

Instead of re-installing Windows, select the recovery console option. Type in "CHKDSK" and then after that runs, type in "FIXBOOT" (no quotes on either).

 

After it runs through the process, remove the disc and reboot. Hopefully it fixes it. If it does not, there are a few other things we can try...

if you just want someone to fix it for you, the price really does vary from person to place. I would try to fix it yourself if you feel comfortable enough to attempt these things.

 

Keep us updated

Unfortunately I don't have the disk, otherwise I'd take a crack at it myself.

 

How does this change how I go about fixing it? From what I understand, I need the disc and there's no way around that, correct? Would a computer repair shop have the installation disc on hand? It sounds like a simple fix with the disc, would the cost to have this repaired at a computer shop be somewhere around $50 (In your opinion)?



#626 -Wade-

-Wade-

    知己知彼,百戰不殆

  • 5,785 posts
  • Joined: Jun 17, 2010
  • Location:◕‿◕
  • Name:Chao ❤
  • Fan Since:▄︻̷̿┻̿═━一
  • Fav. Laker:♛ Kobe Bryant

Posted August 17, 2013 - 04:04 PM

Unfortunately I don't have the disk, otherwise I'd take a crack at it myself.

 

How does this change how I go about fixing it? From what I understand, I need the disc and there's no way around that, correct? Would a computer repair shop have the installation disc on hand? It sounds like a simple fix with the disc, would the cost to have this repaired at a computer shop be somewhere around $50 (In your opinion)?

 

Maybe double that price, they will probably want to run "tests of their own."

 

Can you go to cmd as an elevated user for me and type in "CHKDSK /r", enter Y, and reboot? Does the error still exist?

 

How to enter cmd as an elevated user:

Spoiler


wKNsigp.png

"I'm always a firm believer in us being able to make our own decisions." --Kobe Bryant


#627 Lakerace24

Lakerace24

    Sixth Man

  • 3,207 posts
  • Joined: Jun 12, 2012
  • Name:Matt
  • Fan Since:Birth
  • Fav. Laker:Kobe

Posted August 18, 2013 - 08:25 PM

Maybe double that price, they will probably want to run "tests of their own."

 

Can you go to cmd as an elevated user for me and type in "CHKDSK /r", enter Y, and reboot? Does the error still exist?

 

How to enter cmd as an elevated user:

Spoiler

I'm not able to get to the home screen at all actually, not in safe mode, and not when I go into advanced settings and put everything back to 'last known functioning settings' (or something like that). 

 

I've been looking up local repair shops around my area so I'll see if there is one where I can avoid all the BS extra charges.

 

Thanks for the help anyways man, appreciate it.



#628 -Wade-

-Wade-

    知己知彼,百戰不殆

  • 5,785 posts
  • Joined: Jun 17, 2010
  • Location:◕‿◕
  • Name:Chao ❤
  • Fan Since:▄︻̷̿┻̿═━一
  • Fav. Laker:♛ Kobe Bryant

Posted August 18, 2013 - 10:41 PM

Cool. Hopefully you can do it for cheap. If I were in the area I would do it for free... best of luck man.


wKNsigp.png

"I'm always a firm believer in us being able to make our own decisions." --Kobe Bryant


#629 -Wade-

-Wade-

    知己知彼,百戰不殆

  • 5,785 posts
  • Joined: Jun 17, 2010
  • Location:◕‿◕
  • Name:Chao ❤
  • Fan Since:▄︻̷̿┻̿═━一
  • Fav. Laker:♛ Kobe Bryant

Posted August 29, 2013 - 12:21 PM

Computer Project 2014

 

x1 MSI Big Bang-XPower II LGA 2011 Intel X79 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 XL ATX Intel Motherboard with UEFI BIOS

x1 SILVERSTONE ST1500 1500W ATX 12V PSU

x1 Intel Core i7-3930K Sandy Bridge-E 3.2GHz (3.8GHz Turbo) LGA 2011 130W Six-Core Processor

x1 CORSAIR Hydro Series H100i Water Cooler

x2 Radeon HD 7990 6GB 384-bit x2 GDDR5 GPUs

x4 Acer 23.6" 1080p 120Hz 3D LCD Monitors

x1 Rosewill Dual Arm 13" to 24" Monitor Wall Mount

x1 CORSAIR Vengeance 32GB 2133 DDR3 Memory

x4 Seagate 4TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s (16TB) HDDs

x1 RAZER Blackwidow Ultimate Gaming Keyboard

x1 RAZER Abyssus Mirror Mouse

x2 LG Black 14X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 5X DVD-RAM 12X BD-ROM Blu-ray Burner, Bare Drive, 3D Play Back

x1 Creative Labs Sound Blaster Zx soundcard

x1 Bose® Lifestyle T20 Home Theater System


wKNsigp.png

"I'm always a firm believer in us being able to make our own decisions." --Kobe Bryant


#630 Game

Game

    Your Daddy

  • 10,523 posts
  • Joined: Sep 13, 2008
  • Location:Santa Barbara, Cali
  • Fan Since:Late '80s
  • Fav. Laker:Kobe Bryant

Posted August 29, 2013 - 06:12 PM

going to rebuild in 14 as well...probably not that beastly as i don't get to spend as much time on my computer, but i go pretty big usually when i do full upgrades...thanks for the ideas

 

how do you feel about SSD drives...i've been somewhat out of the loop for a little while now, did those kind of die out?


Posted Image


#631 -Wade-

-Wade-

    知己知彼,百戰不殆

  • 5,785 posts
  • Joined: Jun 17, 2010
  • Location:◕‿◕
  • Name:Chao ❤
  • Fan Since:▄︻̷̿┻̿═━一
  • Fav. Laker:♛ Kobe Bryant

Posted August 29, 2013 - 07:07 PM

I love SSDs. I have a 64GB SSD that I'm going to add to the 2014 rig in addition to the hard drives. The thing about SSDs though are the price tag. You can get a 4TB hard drive for about the same price as a 120GB solid state drive.

 

It is my goal to use only one SSD for the operating system files and program files until the price of SSD drops in the future. Everything else (movies, music, games, downloads, etc.) will be stored on the other hard drives. SSDs are really a treat though. You can reboot your computer and literally see the login screen in 5 seconds. <3

 

You can probably get 8GB 2133 ram, an i7, nvidia GTX 780, 8TB hdds, 128GB SSD, 1000w PSU, sound blaster xi-fi 7.1 and a 120hz 1080p 3d monitor for about 1/4 the price of the rig I am going for and play any game on max settings. 2014 shall be a good year for gamers all around, rather pc or console. I'm excited. And dat Oculus Rift. :D


Edited by -Wade-, August 29, 2013 - 07:13 PM.

wKNsigp.png

"I'm always a firm believer in us being able to make our own decisions." --Kobe Bryant


#632 Game

Game

    Your Daddy

  • 10,523 posts
  • Joined: Sep 13, 2008
  • Location:Santa Barbara, Cali
  • Fan Since:Late '80s
  • Fav. Laker:Kobe Bryant

Posted August 29, 2013 - 07:46 PM

^yea, i have a corsair 128 SSD running my OS currently...will probably continue w/ that model when i upgrade


Posted Image


#633 Draztik

Draztik

    Illmatic

  • 8,166 posts
  • Joined: Jul 08, 2009
  • Fan Since:1986 - Birth!
  • Fav. Laker:Kobe, Gasol, Artest

Posted August 29, 2013 - 08:13 PM

SSD is really the truth


21lsbya.jpg
Peep my music at my youtube page here: MUSIC!


#634 MAMBA24ILL

MAMBA24ILL

    Pray for the bear.

  • 9,343 posts
  • Joined: Mar 04, 2009
  • Location:Austin, TX
  • Fan Since:80's
  • Fav. Laker:MAMBA, MAGIC, NICK VAN EXEL

Posted November 13, 2013 - 07:44 AM

Can someone tell me how to disable video & sound on a Windows PC? 


veqdeg.jpg


#635 HQLLYWQQD

HQLLYWQQD

    Rookie

  • 389 posts
  • Joined: Mar 15, 2012
  • Name:Scott
  • Fan Since:1980
  • Fav. Laker:James Worthy

Posted November 13, 2013 - 07:59 AM

Can someone tell me how to disable video & sound on a Windows PC? 



I'd just remove the drivers for each.

#636 LakersFanatic

LakersFanatic

    Rookie

  • 897 posts
  • Joined: Jul 10, 2012
  • Fan Since:2000
  • Fav. Laker:Kobe

Posted December 02, 2013 - 05:53 AM

Can someone tell me how to disable video & sound on a Windows PC? 

What do you mean? Disable for what reason. You can't really disable video. Best you can do is remove or disable the driver but then you'll just see stuff with a bad resolution and it'll be laggy

#637 LakersFanatic

LakersFanatic

    Rookie

  • 897 posts
  • Joined: Jul 10, 2012
  • Fan Since:2000
  • Fav. Laker:Kobe

Posted December 02, 2013 - 05:54 AM

Btw for those of you talking about HDs, my go to model is using an ssd for the boot partition, and then setting up a raid for my media.

#638 Draztik

Draztik

    Illmatic

  • 8,166 posts
  • Joined: Jul 08, 2009
  • Fan Since:1986 - Birth!
  • Fav. Laker:Kobe, Gasol, Artest

Posted December 02, 2013 - 11:39 AM

Spent the weekend working on my home network. Recommend inSSIDer for anyone looking to tweak their Wi-Fi. Got my Cat5 ethernet cables finally as well.



21lsbya.jpg
Peep my music at my youtube page here: MUSIC!


#639 MAMBA24ILL

MAMBA24ILL

    Pray for the bear.

  • 9,343 posts
  • Joined: Mar 04, 2009
  • Location:Austin, TX
  • Fan Since:80's
  • Fav. Laker:MAMBA, MAGIC, NICK VAN EXEL

Posted December 02, 2013 - 12:16 PM

I'd just remove the drivers for each.

Tried that this morning and....

 

What do you mean? Disable for what reason. You can't really disable video. Best you can do is remove or disable the driver but then you'll just see stuff with a bad resolution and it'll be laggy

I'm trying to prevent someone from always watching video & hearing music. 

 

I removed the sound/video driver this morning but I don't think it worked. 


veqdeg.jpg


#640 Draztik

Draztik

    Illmatic

  • 8,166 posts
  • Joined: Jul 08, 2009
  • Fan Since:1986 - Birth!
  • Fav. Laker:Kobe, Gasol, Artest

Posted December 02, 2013 - 01:15 PM

Are you saying disable video as in make it so no video files can play? All you can really do is remove video codecs, uninstall video viewing software, etc. But then if you ever want to watch again yourself you'd have to install it all again.



21lsbya.jpg
Peep my music at my youtube page here: MUSIC!





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users