Jump to content




Photo

The Official Computer Thread


  • Please log in to reply
657 replies to this topic

#21 androsays

androsays

    representing infinity with presidencies

  • 4,920 posts
  • Joined: Dec 20, 2008
  • Location:city of angels
  • Name:andro
  • Fan Since:90s
  • Fav. Laker:kobe

Posted February 18, 2009 - 12:10 AM

Just call the Apple store and ask them. I called them once and asked a million questions and they were more than happy to answer them. If you do get the newer Macbook, you'll love it. The no-button touchpad is great, and the aluminum casing as well.


i always play with my friends new macbook, it's so sweet and looks fresh too.

and thanks for the advice, i never thought about calling and asking, haha

2div

#22 LA Forever

LA Forever

    All-Star

  • 6,790 posts
  • Joined: Dec 13, 2008
  • Location:Western Conference

Posted February 18, 2009 - 12:19 AM

I have an itch to buy an iMac, but I don't have any money.

^ It's just called Windows 7.

Hopefully it's better than Vista. Vista had so many bugs in it. I had to reformat my mom's new laptop to XP a couple month's back. XP and 2000 are my favorite Microsoft OS.

#23 lyk13

lyk13

    BACK 2 BACK NBA CHAMPIONS

  • 4,722 posts
  • Joined: Jul 25, 2008
  • Location:Singapore
  • Fan Since:1999 (But reminiscent all the way back till 1960s, even 1948)
  • Fav. Laker:Kobe Bryant & Wilt Chamberlain

Posted February 18, 2009 - 09:26 AM

I managed to stay on Vista still, though problems or not, I couldn't confirm. =/

I go out on a limb and ask this here: If scrolling a window at least gibberishes the audio, could it be a memory problem?




#24 LA Forever

LA Forever

    All-Star

  • 6,790 posts
  • Joined: Dec 13, 2008
  • Location:Western Conference

Posted February 18, 2009 - 04:01 PM

It could be that you don't have enough RAM. Don't quote me on that though, but I remember an old computer of mine did the same.

#25 ファイナルファンタジ

ファイナルファンタジ

    Pump Up The Fruit

  • 12,134 posts
  • Joined: Jul 25, 2008
  • Location:San Daygo
  • Name:Jerry
  • Fan Since:Forever
  • Fav. Laker:コービーブライアント

Posted February 18, 2009 - 04:26 PM

XP for life (until I get a new computer :lol:).

Posted Image
Team Farmar
United we stand. Divided we fall.


#26 lyk13

lyk13

    BACK 2 BACK NBA CHAMPIONS

  • 4,722 posts
  • Joined: Jul 25, 2008
  • Location:Singapore
  • Fan Since:1999 (But reminiscent all the way back till 1960s, even 1948)
  • Fav. Laker:Kobe Bryant & Wilt Chamberlain

Posted February 19, 2009 - 12:14 AM

It could be that you don't have enough RAM. Don't quote me on that though, but I remember an old computer of mine did the same.


I was thinking more along the lines of bad ram of some kind....=/ Cos it started from day 1 but living with it.




#27 LA Forever

LA Forever

    All-Star

  • 6,790 posts
  • Joined: Dec 13, 2008
  • Location:Western Conference

Posted February 19, 2009 - 12:57 AM

What are your specs?

#28 lyk13

lyk13

    BACK 2 BACK NBA CHAMPIONS

  • 4,722 posts
  • Joined: Jul 25, 2008
  • Location:Singapore
  • Fan Since:1999 (But reminiscent all the way back till 1960s, even 1948)
  • Fav. Laker:Kobe Bryant & Wilt Chamberlain

Posted February 19, 2009 - 04:24 AM

# CPU: INTEL Core2 Duo E6750 @ 2.66GHz
# Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-P35-DS4 (rev 2.0)
# RAM: Kingston DDR2-667 1GBx2
# GFX: Gigabyte GV-NX88T512HP (w/ Zalman VF700-AlCu)
# HDD 1: Western Digital Caviar 16MB 400GB
# HDD 2: Western Digital Caviar 16MB 500GB
# PSU: CoolerMaster Real Power Pro 650W
# Casing: CoolerMaster Centurion 534+
# Operating System: Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate 32-Bit

A system that I got 1 yr ago.




#29 Game

Game

    Your Daddy

  • 10,876 posts
  • Joined: Sep 13, 2008
  • Location:Santa Barbara, Cali
  • Fan Since:Late '80s
  • Fav. Laker:Kobe Bryant

Posted February 19, 2009 - 08:46 PM

# CPU: INTEL Core2 Duo E6750 @ 2.66GHz
# Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-P35-DS4 (rev 2.0)
# RAM: Kingston DDR2-667 1GBx2
# GFX: Gigabyte GV-NX88T512HP (w/ Zalman VF700-AlCu)
# HDD 1: Western Digital Caviar 16MB 400GB
# HDD 2: Western Digital Caviar 16MB 500GB
# PSU: CoolerMaster Real Power Pro 650W
# Casing: CoolerMaster Centurion 534+
# Operating System: Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate 32-Bit

A system that I got 1 yr ago.

that computer should be able to do most things fine...is this a system you bulit, or purchased already asembled? well, try the ram first, see if you can find a friend with a computer and borrow their ram just to test it. if you can't find someone, i think there's a program called "memtest" or something along those lines that might be able to tell you if your memory is bad...if the ram is fine, and you built the system, make sure your motherboard drivers are up to date, and maybe even check them out if you didn't build it. i assume you're using the on board audio, so check that driver especially on the gigabyte website.

Posted Image


#30 lyk13

lyk13

    BACK 2 BACK NBA CHAMPIONS

  • 4,722 posts
  • Joined: Jul 25, 2008
  • Location:Singapore
  • Fan Since:1999 (But reminiscent all the way back till 1960s, even 1948)
  • Fav. Laker:Kobe Bryant & Wilt Chamberlain

Posted February 20, 2009 - 02:16 AM

that computer should be able to do most things fine...is this a system you bulit, or purchased already asembled? well, try the ram first, see if you can find a friend with a computer and borrow their ram just to test it. if you can't find someone, i think there's a program called "memtest" or something along those lines that might be able to tell you if your memory is bad...if the ram is fine, and you built the system, make sure your motherboard drivers are up to date, and maybe even check them out if you didn't build it. i assume you're using the on board audio, so check that driver especially on the gigabyte website.


Built, but rusty in installation so I got the shop to install for me. :P

No, I'm using X-Fi, guess I didn't list it there as it was from my previous system, just move over to this comp.

Something which I wanted to find out since I got the system was the kind of 'static' noise from the audio. It's the same when I test it with on-board and card. Nowhere I can find similar experiences of ppl...sheesh.




#31 Game

Game

    Your Daddy

  • 10,876 posts
  • Joined: Sep 13, 2008
  • Location:Santa Barbara, Cali
  • Fan Since:Late '80s
  • Fav. Laker:Kobe Bryant

Posted February 22, 2009 - 07:10 AM

hmm, well, if all your drivers (xfi and motherboard) and ram are good, then i would maybe search google for someone with similar hardware and a simliar problem.

Posted Image


#32 daco_inc

daco_inc

    Starter

  • 4,431 posts
  • Joined: Jul 31, 2008
  • Location:Seattle
  • Fan Since:birth
  • Fav. Laker:growing up: magic, now: kobe

Posted February 22, 2009 - 08:06 AM

Try pulling up your task manager (ctrl-shift-esc in vista), and observe the cpu usage and memory when you scroll/play music. Or maybe some other program is eating up your resources. What media player are you using? Have you tried different media player software? foobar2000 is a good low-resource audio player. If it happens when you scroll, most likely the problem is insufficient resources (which is strange because your setup should be more than enough to play music and scroll through windows.)

Edited by daco_inc, February 22, 2009 - 08:07 AM.


#33 netlord

netlord

    Flying high

  • 10,723 posts
  • Joined: Jul 29, 2008
  • Location:España
  • Name:Alexi
  • Fav. Laker:Kobe

Posted February 22, 2009 - 11:14 AM

Just bought a Compaq mini with XP 10" screen

Posted Image

2.2 pounds.
Posted Image

#34 Game

Game

    Your Daddy

  • 10,876 posts
  • Joined: Sep 13, 2008
  • Location:Santa Barbara, Cali
  • Fan Since:Late '80s
  • Fav. Laker:Kobe Bryant

Posted February 22, 2009 - 12:45 PM

Just bought a Compaq mini with XP 10" screen

Posted Image

2.2 pounds.

specs?

i just ordered a new 1 terabyte western digital caviar black hard drive =)

i'm more excited about the new chair i'm getting for my computer though -

Posted Image

Posted Image


#35 lyk13

lyk13

    BACK 2 BACK NBA CHAMPIONS

  • 4,722 posts
  • Joined: Jul 25, 2008
  • Location:Singapore
  • Fan Since:1999 (But reminiscent all the way back till 1960s, even 1948)
  • Fav. Laker:Kobe Bryant & Wilt Chamberlain

Posted February 22, 2009 - 08:01 PM

hmm, well, if all your drivers (xfi and motherboard) and ram are good, then i would maybe search google for someone with similar hardware and a simliar problem.

I need to get some new rams since 2gb is starting to become lackluster...will bump it to 4gb even though I'm on 32-bit.

Tried to search for that someone to nada, been doing that since last year and gave up.

Try pulling up your task manager (ctrl-shift-esc in vista), and observe the cpu usage and memory when you scroll/play music. Or maybe some other program is eating up your resources. What media player are you using? Have you tried different media player software? foobar2000 is a good low-resource audio player. If it happens when you scroll, most likely the problem is insufficient resources (which is strange because your setup should be more than enough to play music and scroll through windows.)

Ok this is the funny part. I had foobar2k since I bought the comp, and it's configured in the way that it will play music SMOOTHLY, without any of the statics. That's the only GOOD part that I can think of of the situation...I'm using ASIO...configured that like a year ago...forgot from where. Other than that, VLC and WMP will have that kind of weird static.

Yeah my system should be more than sufficient, but if fb2k dun have that problem with that ASIO configuration, I have no idea why.

P.S. ^ Chair above looks very comfy...:D




#36 tru'tildeath

tru'tildeath

    Rookie

  • 768 posts
  • Joined: Aug 01, 2008
  • Location:vancouver, bc
  • Fav. Laker:chick hearn

Posted February 23, 2009 - 01:05 AM

2.4 ghz
250 gb hd
2 gb ram
black macbook

apps
Handbrake. Senuti. transmission. an itunes is the [expletive], sometimes i just listen to the radio section all day..


#37 LA Forever

LA Forever

    All-Star

  • 6,790 posts
  • Joined: Dec 13, 2008
  • Location:Western Conference

Posted February 23, 2009 - 01:13 AM

I wanted a black colored Macbook, but they only made this one in a pure aluminum finish.

#38 netlord

netlord

    Flying high

  • 10,723 posts
  • Joined: Jul 29, 2008
  • Location:España
  • Name:Alexi
  • Fav. Laker:Kobe

Posted February 23, 2009 - 05:38 AM

Just bought a Compaq mini with XP 10" screen

Posted Image

2.2 pounds.



specs?

i just ordered a new 1 terabyte western digital caviar black hard drive =)


It's a pretty simple PC

Intel Atom N270 1,60 GHz, L2 cache 512KB
1 gig ram
60GB SATA HDD 4200rpm (yes it's small, but I have portable 500gig HDD so...)
SD/MMC card reader
WLAN 802.11b/g
10.2 WSVGA screen 1024 x 600
Intel GMA950 graphics 128meg
Altec Lansing® speakers
92% complete keyboard



It's for my dad, he doesn't want to carry a normal laptop because size and weight when travelling, which will be it's main use, we won't be using this one while at home. And he doesn't need a big hdd. The battery is just a 3 cell, but he is going to be plugged most of the time so that's fine.
Posted Image

#39 phifedogg76

phifedogg76

    I left my wallet in El Segundo's practice facility

  • 1,838 posts
  • Joined: Jul 29, 2008
  • Location:Glendora, CA
  • Name:Joe $
  • Fan Since:1980
  • Fav. Laker:Magic Shaq and Kobe

Posted February 23, 2009 - 10:47 PM

Dell Inspiron 1525
Intel Core2Duo
2.2 GHz
4GB RAM
250GB Hard Drive
Webcam/Bluetooth
Draft N Wireless
BluRay Drive/DVD RW
Windows Vista Basic
Posted Image

Go Lakeshow!!!

#40 lqv2015

lqv2015

    Rookie

  • 640 posts
  • Joined: Sep 08, 2008

Posted February 24, 2009 - 11:37 PM

I just got two 1.5tb drives by Seagate. Soooo spacious. :evil:




2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users